On November 13, 2012, the EAA Board of Directors approved Final Rules including a prohibition on the use of coal tar-based pavement sealant products after December 31, 2012, in Comal and Hays counties within areas on the Edwards Aquifer Recharge Zone and on certain, defined portions of the Edwards Aquifer Contributing Zone. This rule was codified under EAA Rules, Chapter 713 (Water Quality), Subchapter H (Prohibitions) and may be viewed here: EAA Rules.

In addition, below is a map of the areas in Comal and Hays counties included in the prohibition of coal tar-based pavement sealant products. EAA staff can assist you by providing a determination of a location in relation to the prohibition.

The Edwards Aquifer Authority maintains shapefiles that can be used with ESRI products, these files include Director Districts, Juridictional Boundaries, and Aquifer Zones. 

If you have any questions related to this new rule, please contact Ms. Emily Thompson, CHMM, Sr. Water Quality Program Coordinator, at (210) 222-2204 or (800) 292-1047.