Biggers, Krueger file for EAA director

By Keri Heath The Herald-Zeitung | Posted: Thursday, August 9, 2018 12:00 am

Longtime New Braunfels Utilities executive Roger Biggers announced his candidacy for the Edwards Aquifer Authority board of directors, District 9, on Aug. 2.

Biggers is the only individual who is not an incumbent to have filed for any of the 10 EAA districts up for grabs on the Nov. 6 ballot.

District 8 also represents New Braunfels. Current District 8 Director Kathleen Krueger has filed for re-election.

Biggers worked with the Edwards Aquifer Authority since its inception 25 years ago.

During his 35 years at New Braunfels Utilities, he served as executive director of water services and executive director of external affairs.

"I believe that protecting the Edwards Aquifer and our natural resources is one of the most important things we can do," Biggers said. "This town is growing like it's never grown before, and having an adequate water supply is extremely important."

Past chairman of the EAA board Doug Miller supported Biggers.

"I'm so excited to hear that Roger is willing to run for EAA director," Miller said. "His experience and knowledge about water and Edwards Aquifer issues is beyond compare."

Krueger pointed to a lifelong concern for water resources as her motivation for running again. She has held the District 8 seat since last year, when she filled a vacated position.

"Both by growing up on a Hill Country ranch and serving on the New Braunfels City Council for six years, my concern about environmental stewardship has been enhanced," Krueger said. "I see this as an additional way to volunteer and try to make a difference."

District 8 consists of a chunk of New Braunfels and small slice of Comal County within District 9.

This November, voters will decide on candidates for 10 of the 15 EAA Districts. As of Tuesday morning, seven candidates had filed.

Aside from Biggers and Krueger, the following incumbents have filed candidacy: Carol Patterson for District 1, Ron Ellis for District 5, Enrique Valdivia for District 7, Luana Buckner of District 13 — and current chair — and Rader Gilleland for District 15.

As of Tuesday morning, no candidates had filed for districts 3, 6 and 11, according to Mark Friberg with the EAA.

Directors serve for four-year terms.

Filing opened on July 23 and will run until Aug. 20. Friberg indicated at that time, candidates with no challengers for any district will automatically be declared elected.