

Edwards Aquifer Authority

900 E. Quincy San Antonio, TX 78215 EdwardsAquifer.org

Meeting Minutes

EAHCP Stakeholder Committee

Thursday, March 24, 2022 10:00 AM Web-Conference

A meeting of the Stakeholder Committee of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Plan will be held on the date, time, and location stated above.

AGENDA

1. Call to Order

Chairman Hess called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM.

Present: Javier Hernandez, Buck Benson, Doris Cooksey, James Dodson, Mark Enders, Adam Yablonski, Kerim Jacaman, Myron Hess, Cindy Hooper, Melani Howard, David Villarreal, Colette Barron-Bradsby, Glenn Lord, Brian Mast, Kimberly Meitzen, Gary Middleton, Carol Patterson, Ray Joy Pfannstiel Humberto Ramos, Patrick Shriver, Nathan Pence and Rachel Sanborn.

2. Public Comment

There were no citizens who requested to address the Stakeholder Committee.

3. EAHCP Program Manager Announcements

3.1

- Hydrologic Update
- EAHCP Budget Reports
- EAHCP Program Management
- Spring Communities Update

Scott Storment announced the retirement of Darren Thompson from the San Antonio Water System and updated the committee on a letter sent to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in response to the their 5-year review of Texas wild-rice. Olivia Ybarra provided an update on the EAHCP Steward Newsletter and the 10-Years of Habitat Conservation article series. Mark Enders and Melani Howard provided a spring community update on New Braunfels and San Marcos, respectively.

4. Approval of Minutes

4.1 Approval of previous Stakeholder Committee meeting minutes.

- Stakeholder Committee: October 14, 2021
- · Stakeholder Committee: December 16, 2021

A motion was made by Colette Baron-Bradsby, seconded by Kimberly Meitzen, to approve the meeting minutes from October 14, 2021. There were no objections.

A motion was made by Glen Lord, seconded by Rachel Sanborn, to approve the meeting minutes from December 16, 2021. There were no objections.

5. Reports

5.1 Receive report from Ed Oborny, BIO-WEST, on the Net Disturbance and Incidental Take in the San Marcos and Comal Spring systems.

Ed Oborny, BIO-WEST Inc. presented results from the monitoring program used to calculate the net disturbance and incidental take that occurred in the San Marcos and Comal Spring systems in 2021.

5.2 Receive **2021 EAHCP** Stakeholder report from Myron Hess, Committee Chair, on potential amendments to the **EAHCP** Stakeholder Committee Operational Rules.

Myron Hess, EAHCP Stakeholder Committee Chairman, presented suggested revisions to the Program Operational Rules for the EAHCP Program Adaptive Management Stakeholder Committee. Members of the committee proposed to continue the conversation throughout several Stakeholder Committee meetings to address issues such as officer term limits.

6. Individual Consideration

6.1 Election of 2022 Stakeholder Committee officers.

The Stakeholder Committee nominated the following individuals: Chair – Myron Hess, Vice-Chair – Dr. Kimberly Meitzen, and Secretary – Patrick Shriver.

A motion was made by Glen Lord, seconded by Buck Benson, to approve the Stakeholder Committee Officers for 2022. There were no objections.

Receive report from Dr. Chad Furl, EAHCP Chief Science Officer, regarding the Science Committee member vacancy and consider recommendation to create a Work Group and adopt a Work Group Charge to review nominations for the Stakeholder Committee appointee to the Science Committee.

A motion was made by Humberto Ramos, seconded by Glen Lord to approve the Science Committee Vacancy Work Group Charge. There were no objections.

6.2

7. Future Meetings

8. Questions from the Public

None.

9. Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 12:01 PM.

Olivia Ybarra Habitat Conservation Plan Coordinator

This meeting of the Stakeholder Committee of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Plan complies with Section 7.8.4 of the Funding and Management Agreement (FMA), an interlocal agreement made pursuant to Texas Government Code Chapter 791 by and among the Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA), the City of New Braunfels (New Braunfels), the City of San Marcos (San Marcos), the City of San Antonio acting by and through its San Antonio Water System (SAWS), Texas State University, and the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority (GBRA).

Patrick Shriver Secretary, Stakeholder Committee