

Edwards Aquifer Authority

900 E. Quincy San Antonio, TX 78215 EdwardsAquifer.org

Meeting Minutes

EAHCP Stakeholder Committee

Thursday, December 15, 2022

10:00 AM

EAA Board Room

A meeting of the Stakeholder Committee of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Plan will be held on the date, time, and location stated above.

AGENDA

1. Call to Order

Javier Hernandez, Buck Benson, Mike Short, Doris Cooksey, Phillip Quast, Kerim Jacaman, Myron Hess, Cindy Hooper, Mark Enders, David Villarreal, Kevin Mayes, Glenn Lord, Brian Mast, Robert Mace, Gary Middleton, Carol Patterson, Ray Joy Pfannstiel, Patrick Shriver, Jana Grey, Chuck Ahrens, and Rachel Sanborn.

2. Public Comment

There were no citizens who requested to address the Stakeholder Committee.

3. EAHCP Program Manager Announcements

3.1

- Hydrologic Update
- EAHCP Program Management
- Spring Communities
 - City of New Braunfels
 - City of San Marcos

Chad Furl provided a hydrologic update and noted the San Antonio Pool is in Stage 3, the Uvalde Pool is in Stage 2 and implementation of the EAHCP is currently under Condition M of the Incidental Take Permit. Scott Storment provided the EAHCP expense reports for September and October 2022 and announced Brock Curry's, EAA Deputy General Manager, retirement. Olivia Ybarra recapped the National Habitat Conservation Plan Coalition Conference and highlighted the EAHCP Steward Newsletter. Phillip Quast provided an update on activities in the Comal spring system and Mark Enders provided an update on the activities in the San Marcos spring system.

4. Approval of Minutes

4.1

October 13, 2022

A motion was made by Rachel Sanborn and seconded by Glenn Lord, to approve the meeting minutes from the October 13, 2022 Stakeholder Committee meeting. There were no objections.

5. Individual Consideration

5.1 Consider staff recommendation to approve the establishment of the Biological Goals Subcommittee and charge.

A motion was made by Carol Patterson, and seconded by Rachel Sanborn, to approve the Biological Work Group Charge.

5.2 Election of 2023 Stakeholder Committee officers.

A motion was made by Chuck Ahrens, seconded by Carol Patterson, to approve Stakeholder Committee officers by acclimation. There were no objections.

The 2023 Stakeholder Committee Officers are Myron Hess – Chair, Kimberly Meitzen – Vice-Chair, and Patrick Shriver – Secretary.

6. Future Meetings

The first Stakeholder Committee meeting of 2023 will be held on February 9.

7. Questions from the Public

There were no citizens who requested to address the Stakeholder Committee.

8. Adjourn

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 10:43 AM.

Olivia Ybarra Habitat Conservation Plan Coordinator

This meeting of the Stakeholder Committee of the Edwards Aquifer Habitat Conservation Plan complies with Section 7.8.4 of the Funding and Management Agreement (FMA), an interlocal agreement made pursuant to Texas Government Code Chapter 791 by and among the Edwards Aquifer Authority (EAA), the City of New Braunfels (New Braunfels), the City of San Marcos (San Marcos), the City of San Antonio acting by and through its San Antonio Water System (SAWS), Texas State University, and the Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority (GBRA).

Patrick Shriver Secretary, EAHCP Stakeholder Committee

Edwards Aquifer Authority