Director Elections

As provided for in the Edwards Aquifer Authority Act, the EAA has a governing board composed of 15 directors elected from the single-member election districts and two nonvoting appointed directors. The elected directors serve staggered four-year terms expiring December 1 of each even-numbered year. Accordingly, the board orders elections of the appropriate number of directors on the uniform election date in November of each even-numbered year. If a director’s position becomes vacant for any reason, the board appoints a qualified person to serve until the first election of directors following the appointment. If the position is not scheduled to be filled at that election, the board provides for a director to be elected at that election to serve in the position for the remainder of the unexpired term.