Director Elections

As provided for in the Edwards Aquifer Authority Act, the EAA has a governing board composed of 15 directors elected from the single-member election districts and two non-voting appointed directors. The elected directors serve staggered four-year terms which expire December 1 of each even-numbered year. Accordingly, the board orders elections of the appropriate number of directors on the uniform election date in November of each even-numbered year. If a director’s position becomes vacant for any reason, the board appoints a qualified person to serve until the first election of directors following the appointment. If the position is not scheduled to be filled at that election, the board provides for a director to be elected to serve in the position for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Election Filing Period

Just a reminder that the period for filing an application for a place on the ballot for the November 6, 2018 general election for the Board of Directors began Monday, July 23, 2018, and runs until 5:00 p.m. on Monday, August 20, 2018. Applications may be filed with the EAA’s Election Officer between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on regular business days of the EAA, with the exception that on Monday, August 20, 2018, the hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. For further information please contact Jennifer Wong Esparza via email or call at 210-222-2204.